Symposium – SCSS

Symposium – SCSS

The 1st International Symposium on Satellite Communication Systems & Services (SCSS)
October 19 ~ 21, 2022
Ramada Plaza Jeju Hotel, Korea
Call for papers

Satellites will be an essential component in 6G communication networks by providing seamless global coverage and extending data paths to the space, both in the standalone deployment and in satellite-terrestrial integrated networks. With the near-future deployment of mega-constellation low-earth-orbit (LEO) satellites and the 3rd Generation Project Partnership (3GPP) Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) standardization, both academia and industry will continue to invest their R&D efforts for technical breakthrough and ultimate commercialization.

Unique characteristics of satellite channels such as long propagation delays and big Doppler shifts are to be overcome with new designs of signal waveforms and multiple access schemes in a wide range of spectrum. Moving topologies of non-geostationary orbit (NGSO) satellites and interconnection of heterogeneous PHY links should be taken into account for the optimization of routing path decision and end-to-end flow control. Resource allocation and network management over the integrated network can capitalize on an efficient use of artificial intelligence and machine learning technologies in the software-defined and virtualized network. In addition to broadband Internet access, backhauling, and Internet of Things (IoT) services in remote areas, system and payload designs of 6G communication satellites will be geared to support multi-purpose and multi-functional space networks for earth observation, monitoring, positioning/navigation, space exploration, etc.

The first International Symposium on Satellite Communication System & Service (SCSS), co-located with APCC 2022, will make an ideal forum to share state-of-the-art satcom R&D outcomes and to seek for a global network for 6G satcom standardization/deployment. We invite researchers and engineers to submit original technical papers for oral/poster presentation at the symposium. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • 6G NTN standardization
  • PHY/MAC layer technologies for 6G satellite communications
  • Network/Transport layer technologies for 6G satellite networks
  • Applications and use-cases for 6G satellite communication networks
  • Satellite-air-terrestrial integrated network architecture for 6G
  • LEO and vLEO mega-constellation networks for 6G
  • AI and ML for 6G satellite networks
  • Security, privacy, and authentication in 6G satellite networks
  • ISL (inter-satellite links) and FSO (free space optical) communications for 6G satellite networks
  • RF technologies and spectrum for 6G satellite networks
  • Virtualization and software-defined networking for 6G satellite networks
  • Payload and system design for 6G communication satellites
  • Small/cube/Nano satellites for 6G networks
  • HAPS/UAV/UAM integration and services with 6G satellites
  • 6G networks for multi-purpose and multi-functional satellites
  • Testbeds and simulations for 6G satellite networks
Submission Guidelines

The paper submission process will be managed by using EDAS, Prospective authors may submit full or short papers. Paper length should be five or six pages for a full paper and two pages for a short paper. Please use the standard IEEE conference proceedings template for MS Word or a LaTex format. Accepted papers will be published in the APCC 2022 Conference Proceedings and in IEEE Xplore for which at least one author is required to register for the symposium at the full rate. Selected papers may be invited for publication in the special issue on satellite networks of ICT Express, which is an SCIE-indexed international journal published by KICS, after suitable peer-reviews and further revisions (

Important Dates
  • Paper submission due: June 30, 2022
  • Notification of acceptance: July 31, 2022
  • Camera-ready papers: September 15, 2022
Organizing Committee
  • General Chair: Seng-Keun Park, ETRI
  • General Vice Chair: Sooyoung Kim, Jeonbuk National University
  • International Advisory Committee (IAC) Chair: Kevin Choi, ktsat
  • TPC Co-Chairs:
    Song Guo, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
    Jihwan Choi, KAIST
  • Publicity Chair: In-ho Lee, Hankyong National University
  • Operation Chair: Joon-Gyu Ryu, ETRI
International Advisory Committee (IAC) Member
  • Ivory Christophe, AST SpaceMobile
  • Brian Holz, Mangata Networks
  • Thierry Abraham, Satixfy
  • Harald Skinnemoen, Ansur
  • Riccardo De Gaudenzi , ESA
  • Giovanni Emanuele Corazza, University of Bologna
  • Chung G. Kang, Satellite Communication Forum
  • Yi, Yu, KSSS
  • Ki-Keun Kim, KOSST
  • Seong-Ook Park, KIEES
  • Yoan Shin, KICS
  • Hyung Keun Lee, IPNT
  • Barry Evans, University of Surrey
  • S.-M. Michael Yang, Baycore Wireless
  • Ho-Jin Lee, Soletop
  • Michel Bousquet, ISAE-SUPAERO
  • Young-nam Han, KAIST
  • Chongam Kim, KSAS
Steering Committee (SC) Member
  • Jae-Hyun Kim, AJOU University
  • Kevin Kyeong-il CHOI , ktsat
  • Jae Woo Lee, KAI
  • Jun Tae Ko, Hanwha Systems
  • Byunghyun Kwon, LIG Nex1
  • Inho Cho, RFHIC
  • Jeongwoo Park, Intellian
  • Sung-Chul Lee , SK telink
  • Han-dol Kim, Asia Pacific Satellite Inc.
  • Woo Jin Byun, IITP
  • Moon-Que Lee , University of Seoul
  • SungHo CHOI, IITP